Skip to content

September 18, 2021 – WaterFire Music Program

WaterFire Providence presents a Partial Lighting of WaterFire on Saturday, September 18, 2021. The lighting will begin around 6:49 pm and is set to run through 11:00 p.m.

All of the music is the work of the original artists listed below and they retain the copyright. The music is used here by permission of the artist or the recording company and/or licensed for public performance through ASCAP, SESAC, and/or BMI (including their affiliated foreign performance rights societies). We urge you to further explore and support the work of these artists through the purchase of their recordings. WaterFire Providence® and Barnaby Evans wish to thank the artists for creating such wonderful music and the recording companies for their enthusiastic cooperation and support.

Get the September 18, 2021 music program as a Spotify playlist.

September 18, 2021 – Music Program

6:49      “Being in Rhythm”
composed by Layne Redmond
performed by Layne Redmond & 
   Tommy Brunjes
from Being in Rhythm
6:55      “Finney Makes a Point”
composed by Mike Figgis
performed by Mike Figgis
from Stormy Monday Soundtrack
6:58      “Halleluyah”
composed by David Hykes
performed by David Hykes, Michelle Hykes 
   and Timothy Hill voices and drum
from Harmonic Meetings
7:05      “Canzon duodecimi toni”
composed by Gabrielli, Giovanni
performed by HR Brass
from Venetian Polychoral Music
7:09     “Wake Me Up” (Acoustic)
composed by E. Dawkins III, M. Einziger 
   & T. Bergling
performed by Aloe Blacc
From Lift Your Spirit
7:13      “A Model of the Universe”
composed by Jóhann Jóhannsson
performed by Jóhann Jóhannsson
from The Theory of Everything soundtrack
7:16      “Nessun dorma”
composed by Giacomo Puccini
performed by Luciano Pavarotti
from Turandot
7:19      “Montanerisimo”
composed by A. Ruiz del Castillo & A. Posada
performed by Los 50 de Jeselito
from Columbia
7:22      “In Memory”
composed by Bruce Gertz
performed by The Bruce Gertz Quintet
from Third Eye
7:27      “Moments”
composed by Ara Dinkjian
performed by Night Ark
from Moments
7:36      “Havoun, havoun - About the bird” 
from the 13th C. Sharakan, arranged by 
   Komitas Vardapet
performed by the Sharakan Early Music 
   Ensemble, with Anna Mailian
from The Music of Armenia, Sharakan, Vol. II
7:41      “Baby Elephant”
composed by Ara Dinkjian
performed by Night Ark
from Moments
7:45      “Mi Corazon Me Recuerda” 
composed by Haro and Sabines
performed by Lila Downs
from Border
7:50      “Esa Noche”
performed by Café Tacuba
from Music from the Coffee Lands
7:54      “Nem As Paredes Confesso
composed by Ribeire and Trindade
performed by Amália Rodrigues
from The Art of Amália Rodrigues
7:58      “Werente Serigne”
composed by Dieng
performed by Orchestra Baobab
from The Pirate’s Choice
8:04     “Gabby Kai”
traditional Hawaiian song
performed by James Bla Pahinui
from Music from the Coffee Lands
8:09      “Cerulean”
composed by Ben Leinbach & 
   Geoffrey Gordon
performed by Ben Leinbach & 
   Geoffrey Gordon
from Putumayo Presents Yoga
8:16      “Prelude (From the Unaccompanied 
   Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007)”
composed by J.S. Bach
performed by Yo Yo Ma
from the Master and Commander soundtrack
8:19      “St. James Infirmary”
composed by Irving Mills
performed by Billie and Dee Preservation 
   Hall Jazz Band
from Preservation Hall Early Years
8:22      “Summa”
composed by Arvo Pärt
performed by The Hilliard Ensemble
from Arbos
8:27      “Por Que Llorax”  excerpt
traditional Chanson Sefardite
performed by Montserrat Figueras 
   and Jordi Savall
from La Voix de l’Emotion
8:33      “Oumai”
composed by Maria de Barros
performed by Maria de Barros
from Danca Ma Mi
8:35      “Adir”
performed by The Andy Statman Quartet
from Between Heaven and Earth
8:43     “Deep As Love”
composed by Tord Gustavsen
performed by the Tord Gustavsen Trio
from Changing Places
8:49      “Smoke Gets in Your Eyes”
composed by Kern and Harback
performed by Coleman Hawkins
from Coleman Hawkins Soul
8:54      “Durme Durme”
performed by Tanja Solnik
from Welcoming Children in to the World
8:57      “Underground”
composed by Goran Bregovic
performed by Goran Bregovic
from Underground
9:02      “Casta Diva”
composed by Bellini
performed by Maria Callas
from Norma
9:05      “Bridges”
composed by Micheál Ō Domhnaill
performed by Nightnoise
from Nightnoise
9:11      “I’ll See You In My Dreams”
composed by Bruce Springsteen
performed by Bruce Springsteen
from Letter To You
9:14      “Cantus in memory of Benjamin Britten”
composed by Arvo Pärt
performed by Staatsorchester Stuttgart
from Tabula Rasa
9:20      “Comadi”
composed by Céu
performed by Céu  (Brazil)
from Vagarosa
9:23      “Waino Blues”
composed by Daby Balde
performed by Dabe Balde
from Introducing Dabe Balde
9:28      “I Heard It Through The Grapevine
composed by Marvin Gaye
performed by Bill Frisell
from East/West
9:33      “Without Shades”
composed by Zagar
performed by Zagar (Hungary)
from Cannot Walk Fly Instead
9:37      “Kakokolo”
composed by Samite
performed by Samite
from Embalasasa
9:42      “Wire”
composed by The Low Anthem
performed by The Low Anthem
from Smart Flesh
9:46      “Little Potato”
composed by Malcolm Dalglish
performed by Malcolm Dalglish
from Metamora
9:50      “Presentiment”
composed by Emahoy Tsegué-Maryam 
performed by Emahoy Tsegué-Maryam 
from Ethiopiques Vol. 21
9:54      “(Don’t) Tremble”
composed by Low Anthem
performed by Low Anthem
from Oh My God Charlie Darwin
9:59      “Sposa, non mi conosci” from Merope
composed by Geminiano Giacomelli
performed by Cecilia Bartoli
from Sacrificium
10:03    “Mariama Kaba”
composed by Boubacar Traoré
performed by Boubacar Traoré
from Mariama
10:09    “Amelia Desert Morning”
composed by Gustavo Santaolalla
performed by Gustavo Santaolalla
from Babel
10:11    “The Feeling Begins
composed by Peter Gabriel and others
performed by Peter Gabriel
from Passion–The Last Temptation of Christ
10:15    “Paris, Texas”
composed by Ry Cooder
performed by Ry Cooder
from the soundtrack Paris, Texas
10:18    “Litany - variation I”
composed by Eleni Karaindrou
performed by Kim Kashkashian, viola
from Ulysses' Gaze  soundtrack
10:22    “Mai Nozipo”
composed by Dumisani Maraire
performed by the Kronos Quartet
from Kronos Quartet - Pieces of Africa
10:29    “Chan Chan”
composed by Company Segundo
performed by Company Segundo 
   and Ry Cooder
from Buena Vista Social Club
10:33    “Kothbiro”
composed by Ayub Ogada
performed by Ayub Ogada
from African Voices: Songs of Life
10:39    “Mesa Drive”
composed by Jenifer Smith
performed by Jenifer Smith
from Code Mesa
10:44    “Chouchiki”
composed by Komitas Vardapet, based 
   on traditional sources
performed by Iakovos Kolanian, guitar
from Armenian Traditional Music for 
   Classical Guitar
10:46    “Xandinha”
composed by Nando Da Cruz
performed by Cesaria Evora
from Cesaria Evora
10:51    “Doce De Coco”
composed by Jacob do Bandolim
performed by Yo-Yo Ma, Paquito D' Rivera, 
   & Romero Lumbambo
from Obrigado Brazil
10:56    “Short Trip Home”
composed by Edgar Meyer
performed by Joshua Bell, Edgar Meyer,
   Sam Bush, & Mike Marshall 
from Short Trip Home

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *