Skip to content

June 25, 2022 – WaterFire Music Program

Photograph by Jeffrey Stolzberg

WaterFire Providence presents a Full Lighting of WaterFire on Saturday, June 25, 2022. The lighting will begin around 8:25 pm and is set to run until midnight. This lighting is supported by Cox Business and Bank of America.

All of the music is the work of the original artists listed below and they retain the copyright. The music is used here by permission of the artist or the recording company and/or licensed for public performance through ASCAP, SESAC, and/or BMI (including their affiliated foreign performance rights societies). We urge you to further explore and support the work of these artists through the purchase of their recordings. WaterFire Providence® and Barnaby Evans wish to thank the artists for creating such wonderful music and the recording companies for their enthusiastic cooperation and support.

Get the June 25, 2022 music program as a Spotify playlist.

June 25, 2022 – Music Program

8:24      “Being in Rhythm”
composed by Layne Redmond
performed by Layne Redmond & Tommy Brunjes
from Being in Rhythm
8:31      “Finney Makes a Point”
composed by Mike Figgis
performed by Mike Figgis
from Stormy Monday Soundtrack
8:34      “Halleluyah”
composed by David Hykes
performed by David Hykes, Michelle Hykes and Timothy Hill voices and drum
from Harmonic Meetings
8:41      “Prelude (From the Unaccompanied Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007)”
composed by J.S. Bach
performed by Yo Yo Ma
from the Master and Commander soundtrack
8:44      “Japurá River”
composed by Philip Glass
performed by Uakti
from Aguas da Amazonia
8:49      “In Memory”
composed by Bruce Gertz
performed by The Bruce Gertz Quintet
from Third Eye
8:54      “Moments”
composed by Ara Dinkjian
performed by Night Ark
from Moments
9:04      “Havoun, havoun” [About the bird]
from the 13th C. Sharakan, arranged by Komitas Vardapet
performed by the Sharakan Early Music Ensemble, with Anna Mailian
from The Music of Armenia, Sharakan, Vol. II
9:09      “Baby Elephant”
composed by Ara Dinkjian
performed by Night Ark
from Moments
9:13      “Mi Corazon Me Recuerda”
composed by Haro and Sabines
performed by Lila Downs
from Border
9:17      “Eliyahu Hanavi”
performed by Shlomo Carlebach
from The Gift of Shabbos
9:19      “Nem As Paredes Confesso”
composed by Ribeire and Trindade
performed by Amália Rodrigues
from The Art of Amália Rodrigues
9:23      “Werente Serigne”
composed by Dieng
performed by Orchestra Baobab
from The Pirate’s Choice
9:30      “Gabby Kai”
traditional Hawaiian song
performed by James Bla Pahinui
from Music from the Coffee Land
9:34      “La Milonga De Ricardo En Cha-Cha-Chá”
performed by Ricardo Lemvo and Makina Loca
from Music from the Coffee Lands
9:39      “Chinar Es” [You are my plane tree]
from the 13th C. Sharakan, arranged by Komitas Vardapet
performed by Ben Black
from Remembered Faces, Private Places
9:42      “Imi Au lā ‘Oe”
composed by Keola Beamer
performed by Keola Beamer
from Mauna Kea – White Mountain Journal
9:46      “Warda’s Whorehouse”
composed by Phillip Glass
performed by Martin Goldray
from The Screens soundtrack
9:48      “El Pájaro” [The Bird]
composed by Lhasa de Sela
performed by Lhasa de Sela
from La Llorona
9:53      “Icare”
composed by René Dupéré
performed by Cirque du Soleil
from Alegria
10:00     “Saya - Motherland: The Score”
composed by Sona Jobarteh
performed by Sona Jobarteh
from Motherland
10:04     “Mueve la Cintura Mulata”
composed by Alejandro Enis Almenaris
performed by Cuarteto Oriente
from Casa de la Trova:  Santiago de Cuba
10:12     “Sangjidorji”
traditional Mongolian song
performed by Urna Chahar-Tugchi
from Urna Hödööd
10:16     “Ghetto”
composed by Sam Mangwana
performed by Sam Mangwana
from Galo Negro
10:21     “Mujer Magica”
composed by Julian Avalos
performed by Julian Avalos and Afro-Andes
from Putumayo Presents Afro-Latino
10:26     “Aideu”
traditional Santería prayer to Orisha Ochun
performed by Conjunto Céspedes
from Flores
10:28     “Sangue de Beirona”
performed by Cesaria Evora
from Cabo Verde
10:32     “Wake Me Up (acoustic)”
composed by E. Dawkins III, M. Einziger & T. Bergling
performed by Aloe Blacc
from Lift Your Spirit
10:36     “Lascia ch’io planga” [from Rinaldo]
composed by George Frederick Handel
performed by Cecilia Bartoli
from The Art of Cecilia Bartoli
10:40     “Rose Rouge”
composed by Ludovic Navarre
performed by St. Germain
from Tourist
10:48     “Little Potato”
composed by Malcolm Dalglish
performed by Malcolm Dalglish
from Metamora
10:51     “Triste Gonia”
composed by Santos/Djedjinho
performed by Maria de Barros
from Nha Mundo
10:55     “A Felicidade”
composed by Jobin and Moraes
performed by Ben Black
from Remembered Faces / Private Places
11:00     “Ndima Ndapedza”
composed by Oliver Mtukudzi
performed by Oliver Mtukudzi
from Tuku Music/Africa
11:06     “Riberonzinha”
composed by Monteiro/Job
performed by Maria de Barros
from Nha Mundo
11:11     “Segne”
composed by Bella Bellow
performed by Afia Mala
from Angelena / Africa
11:15     “Steal Away”
performed by Charlie Haden and Hank Jones
from Steal Away
11:18     “Siboney”
composed by Ernesto Lecuona
performed by Eliades Ochoa
from Estoy Como Nunca
11:23     “Trista Pena”
performed by the Gipsy Kings
from Best of the Gipsy Kings
11:27     “Motherless Child”
traditional spiritual
performed by The Blind Boys of Alabama
from Spirit of the Century
11:32     “Skylark”
composed by Hoagy Carmichael & Johnny Mercer
performed by Aretha Franklin
from The Essential Aretha Franklin
11:35     “La Luna”
composed by Ottmar Liebert
performed by Ottmar Liebert and Luna Negra
from La Semana
11:39     “Nobody’s Fault But Mine”
traditional, arranged by The Blind Boys of Alabama
performed by The Blind Boys of Alabama
from Spirit of the Century
11:42 "The Face of Love”
composed by Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and Eddie Vedder
performed by Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and Eddie Vedder
from Dead Man Walking soundtrack
11:48     “Doce De Coco”
composed by Jacob do Bandolim
performed by Yo-Yo Ma, Paquito D' Rivera, & Romero Lumbambo
from Obrigado Brazil
11:53     “Deep River”
composed by Steven Foster
performed by The Blind Boys of Alabama
from Deep River
11:56     “Short Trip Home”
composed by Edgar Meyer
performed by Joshua Bell, Edgar Meyer, Sam Bush, and Mike Marshall
from Short Trip Home

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *