Skip to content

June 22, 2019 WaterFire Music Program

WaterFire Providence presents a full lighting on Saturday, June 22, 2019. The lighting is scheduled to start at 8:24 pm and is set to run through 12:30 am.

This Full Lighting of WaterFire is sponsored in part by Cox Business.

All of the music is the work of the original artists listed below and they retain the copyright. The music is used here by permission of the artist or the recording company and/or licensed for public performance through ASCAP, SESAC, and/or BMI (including their affiliated foreign performance right societies). We urge you to further explore and support the work of these artists through the purchase of their recordings. WaterFire Providence® and Barnaby Evans wish to thank the artists for creating such wonderful music and the recording companies for their enthusiastic cooperation and support.

Get the June 22, 2019 music program as a Spotify playlist.

June 22, 2019 – Music Program

8:24     “Being in Rhythm”
composed by Layne Redmond
performed by Layne Redmond & Tommy Brunjes
from Being in Rhythm 

8:30     “Finney Makes a Point”
composed by Mike Figgis
performed by Mike Figgis
from Stormy Monday Soundtrack 

8:33     “Halleluyah
composed by David Hykes
performed by David Hykes, Michelle Hykes and Timothy Hill voices and drum
from Harmonic Meetings 

8:40     “Canzon Noni Toni à 12 (Sacrae Symphoniae 1597)”
composed bt Giovanni  Gabirelei
performed by London Symphony Orchestra Brass Ensemble
from Sacred Brass

8:44     “Nessun dorma” 
composed by Giacomo Puccini
performed by Luciano Pavarotti
from Turandot

8:47     “Montanerisimo”
composed by A. Ruiz del Castillo & A. Posada
performed by Los 50 de Jeselito
from Columbia

8:50     “In Memory”
composed by Bruce Gertz
performed by The Bruce Gertz Quintet
from Third Eye

8:55     “Moments”
composed by Ara Dinkjian
performed by Night Ark
from Moments

9:05     “Havoun, havoun” [About the bird]
from the 13th C. Sharakan, arranged by Komitas Vardapet
performed by the Sharakan Early Music Ensemble, with Anna Mailian
from The Music of Armenia, Sharakan, Vol. II 

9:09     “Baby Elephant”
composed by Ara Dinkjian
performed by Night Ark
from Moments 

9:13     “Mi Corazon Me Recuerda”
composed by Haro and Sabines
performed by Lila Downs
from Border 

9:18     “Esa Noche
performed by Café Tacuba
from Music from the Coffee Lands 

9:21     “Nem As Paredes Confesso
composed by Ribeire and Trindade
performed by Amália Rodrigues
from The Art of Amália Rodrigues 

9:25     “Werente Serigne”
composed by Dieng
performed by Orchestra Baobab
from The Pirate’s Choice

9:32     “Gabby Kai”
traditional Hawaiian song
performed by James Bla Pahinui
from Music from the Coffee Lands 

9:37     “La Milonga De Ricardo En Cha-Cha-Chá”
performed by Ricardo Lemvo and Makina Loca
from Music from the Coffee Lands 

9:42     “Chinar Es” [You are my plane tree]
from the 13th C. Sharakan, arranged by Komitas Vardapet
performed by Ben Black
from Remembered Faces, Private Places 

9:45     “Imi Au lā ‘Oe”
composed by Keola Beamer
performed by Keola Beamer
from Mauna Kea – White Mountain Journal 

9:48     “Warda’s Whorehouse”
composed by Phillip Glass
performed by Martin Goldray
from The Screens soundtrack

9:51     “El Pájaro” [The Bird]
composed by Lhasa de Sela
performed by Lhasa de Sela
from La Llorona 

9:55     “Icare
composed by René Dupéré
performed by Cirque du Soleil
from Alegria 

10:03    “Earth”
composed by Stephan Micus
performed by Stephan Micus
from The Garden of Mirrors 

10:08    “Mueve la Cintura Mulata
composed by Alejandro Enis Almenaris
performed by Cuarteto Oriente
from Casa de la Trova:  Santiago de Cuba

10:16    “Sangjidorji
traditional Mongolian song
performed by Urna Chahar-Tugchi
from Urna Hödööd 

10:20    “Ghetto
composed by Sam Mangwana
performed by Sam Mangwana
from Galo Negro 

10:24    “Mujer Magica”
composed by Julian Avalos
performed by Julian Avalos and Afro-Andes
from Putumayo Presents Afro-Latino

10:30    “Aideu
traditional Santería prayer to Orisha Ochun
performed by Conjunto Céspedes
from Flores

10:32    “Thoughts Unspoken”
composed by Ken Field
performed by Ken Field
from Subterranea

10:35    “Sangue de Beirona”
performed by Cesaria Evora
from Cabo Verde

10:39    “Wake Me Up (acoustic)”
composed by E. Dawkins III, M. Einziger & T. Bergling
performed by Aloe Blacc
from Lift Your Spirit 

10:42    “Amazing Grace”
lyrics by John Newton
traditional melody
performed by The Blind Boys of Alabama
from Spirit of the Century

10:47    “Lascia ch’io planga” [from Rinaldo]
composed by George Frederick Handel
performed by Cecilia Bartoli
from The Art of Cecilia Bartoli 

10:52    “Rose Rouge”
composed by Ludovic Navarre
performed by St. Germain
from Tourist

10:59    “Penitence”
composed by Ezio Bosso
performed by the Turin String Quartet
from I’m Not Scared 

11:00    “Little Potato
composed by Malcolm Dalglish
performed by Malcolm Dalglish
from Metamora 

11:04    “Triste Gonia”
composed by Santos/Djedjinho
performed by Maria de Barros
from Nha Mundo 

11:08    “A Felicidade”
composed by Jobin and Moraes
performed by Ben Black
from Remembered Faces / Private Places 

11:12    “Ndima Ndapedza”
composed by Oliver Mtukudzi
performed by Oliver Mtukudzi
from Tuku Music/Africa 

11:19    “Riberonzinha”
composed by Monteiro/Job
performed by Maria de Barros
from Nha Mundo 

11:24    “Before Sunrise”
composed by Stefan  Micus
performed by Stefan Micus
from Towards the Wind 

11:27    “Segne”
composed by Bella Bellow
performed by Afia Mala
from Angelena / Africa 

11:32    “Steal Away”
performed by Charlie Haden and Hank Jones
from Steal Away

11:35    “Coaineadh na d’Tri Muire”
traditional, adapted by Cathie Ryan
performed by Cathie Ryan
from the News For the Church soundtrack

11:38    “Siboney
composed by Ernesto Lecuona
performed by Eliades Ochoa
from Estoy Como Nunca

11:43    “Lamara”
composed by Rigo Star Bamundele
performed by M’Bilia Bel
from Yalowa / Divine Divas

11:50    “Trista Pena”
performed by the Gipsy Kings
from Best of the Gipsy Kings

11:54    “Motherless Child”
traditional spiritual
performed by The Blind Boys of Alabama
from Spirit of the Century

11:59    “Skylark”
composed by Hoagy Carmichael & Johnny Mercer
performed by Aretha Franklin
from The Essential Aretha Franklin 

12:01    “La Luna
composed by Ottmar Liebert
performed by Ottmar Liebert and Luna Negra
from La Semana 

12:06    “Nobody’s Fault But Mine
traditional, arranged by The Blind Boys of Alabama
performed by The Blind Boys of Alabama
from Spirit of the Century 

12:09    “Milk and Honey
composed by Jackson C. Frank
performed by Jackson C. Frank
from Blues Run the Game

12:13    “Despertar
composed by Sergio Lara and Joe Reyes
performed by Sergio Lara and Joe Reyes
from Exotico 

12:18    “Pod Bay Doors
composed by David Chandler
performed by David Chandler
from Island Light 

12:20    “Doce De Coco”
composed by Jacob do Bandolim
performed by Yo-Yo Ma, Paquito D’ Rivera, & Romero Lumbambo
from Obrigado Brazil 

12:24    “Deep River
composed by Steven Foster
performed by The Blind Boys of Alabama
from Deep River 

12:27    “Short Trip Home
composed by Edgar Meyer
performed by Joshua Bell, Edgar Meyer, Sam Bush, and Mike Marshall
from Short Trip Home

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.