Skip to content

July 22, 2023 – WaterFire Music Program

Photograph by Jeffrey Stolzberg

WaterFire Providence presents a Full Lighting of WaterFire on Saturday, July 22, 2023. The lighting will begin around sunset (8:13 pm) and is set to run until midnight. This lighting is supported by Amica & Bank of America.

All of the music is the work of the original artists listed below and they retain the copyright. The music is used here by permission of the artist or the recording company and/or licensed for public performance through ASCAP, SESAC, and/or BMI (including their affiliated foreign performance rights societies). We urge you to further explore and support the work of these artists through the purchase of their recordings. WaterFire Providence® and Barnaby Evans wish to thank the artists for creating such wonderful music and the recording companies for their enthusiastic cooperation and support.

Get the July 22, 2023 music program as a Spotify playlist.

July 22, 2023 – Music Program

7:56       “Being in Rhythm”
composed by Layne Redmond
performed by Layne Redmond & Tommy Brunjes
from Being in Rhythm
8:02       “Finney Makes a Point”
composed by Mike Figgis
performed by Mike Figgisfrom Stormy Monday Soundtrack
8:05       “Halleluyah” 
composed by David Hykes
performed by David Hykes, Michelle Hykes and Timothy Hill voices and drum
from Harmonic Meetings
8:12       “Israelites”
composed by Desmond Dacres, Desmond Dekker, Leslie Kong & The Aces
performed by Desmond Dekker
from Israelites: The Best of Desmond Dekker (1963-1971)
8:15       “Obiero”
composed by Ayub Ogada
performed by Ayub Ogada
from En Mana Kuoyo
8:20       “Muzinge”
composed by Samite Mulongo (Uganda)
performed by Samite Mulongo (Uganda)
from Pearl of Africa Reborn
8:25 Canzon XVII a 12 (Canzone e Sonate 1615)”
composed by Giovanni Gabrieli
performed by London Symphony Brass Ensemble
from Sacred Brass
8:29       “Negro River”
composed by Philip Glass
performed by Uakti
from Aguas da Amazonia
8:34       “Dos Gardenias”
composed by Compay Segundo
performed by Compay Segundo and Ry Cooder
from Buena Vista Social Club soundtrack
8:37       “My Lover’s Gone”
composed by D. Armstrong and J Catto
performed by Dido
from No Angel
8:41       “Sacrifice”
composed by Lisa Gerrard and Pieter Bourke
performed by Lisa Gerrard and Pieter Bourke
from The Insider
8:49       “Eg veit I himmerik ei borg”
traditional Norwegian Song
performed by Anne-Lise Berntsen, soprano and NilsHenrik Asheim, organ
from Engleskyts (Angel’s Arrows)
8:52       “Iguazu”
composed by Gustavo Santaolalla
performed by G. Santaolalla and Anibel Kerpel
from Ronroco
8:57       “Nessun dorma”
composed by Giacomo Puccini
performed by Luciano Pavarotti
from Turandot
9:00       “Areia de salamansa”
composed by Pedro Rodrigues
performed by Cesaria Evora
from Cesaria Evora
9:03       “Dounuya”
composed by Mamadou Diabate
performed by Mamadou Diabate
from Tunga
9:09       “My Old Flame”
composed by Coslow-Johnson
performed by Chet Baker
from Chet Baker in Milan
9:14       “Oblivion”
composed by Astor Piazzolla
performed by Jean Yves Fourmeau Saxophone Quartet
from The Art of the Jean Yves Fourmeau Saxophone Quartet
9:17       “Houston in Two Seconds”
composed by Ry Cooder
performed by Ry Cooder
from Paris, Texas soundtrack
9:19       “Jaran hailaas”
traditional Mongolian grassland song
performed by Urna Chahrtugchi
from Tal Nutag
9:24       “Fry Bread”
composed by BC Smith
performed by BC Smith
from Smoke Signals soundtrack
9:25       “Summa”
composed by Arvo Pärt
performed by Calefax Reed Quintet
from Pärt-Byrd
9:30       “La Gioconda: Act II, Cielo e mar!”
composed by Amilcare Ponchielli
performed by Andrea Bocelli
from Aria
9:35       “Pampa”
composed by Gustavo Santaolalla
performed by G. Santaolalla and A. Kerpel with J. Torres
from Ronroco
9:39       “Adagio”
composed by Samuel Barber
performed by Jean Yves Fourmeau Saxophone Quartet
from The Art of the Jean Yves Fourmeau Saxophone Quartet
9:45       “Sabu”
ancient Wassoulou hunter song
performed by Oumou Sangare
from Worotan
9:50       “Milonga Triste”
composed by Sebastian Piana & Homero Manzi
performed by Hugo Diaz y su Conjunto
from The Tango Lesson soundtrack
9:53       “The Dream of Rabbi Lavy”
composed by Davka
performed by Davka
from Lavy's Dream
9:57       “Moe ‘Uhane” (Dream Slack Key)”
composed by Sonny Chillingworth
performed by Sonny Chillingworth from Sonny Solo
10:00       “Many Rivers to Cross”
composed by Jimmy Cliff
performed by Jimmy Cliff
from The Harder They Come soundtrack
10:03       “Habla Me”
composed by Gipsy Kings
performed by Gipsy Kings
from Cantos de Amor
10:08       “Krokodill”
composed by Jóhann Jóhannsson
performed by the EÞos String Quartet
from Englabörn
10:10       “Mazurka”
traditional  [Cape Verdean]
performed by Bau
from Café Musique
10:15       “Vladimir’s Blues”
composed by Max Richter
performed by Max Richter
from The Blue Notebooks
10:16       “Kakokolo”
composed by Samite
performed by Samite
from Embalasasa
10:21       “Embalasasa”
composed by Samite
performed by Samite
from Embalasasa
10:25       “Anyone and Everyone”
composed by Lhasa De Sela
performed by Lhasa
from Lhasa
10:28       “Hurricane Season”
composed by Troy Andrews
performed by Trombone Shorty
from Backatown
10:32       “Azara Alhai”
composed by Rasha
performed by Rasha
from Sudaniyat
10:38       “Cage the Songbird”
composed by Low Anthem
performed by Low Anthem
from Oh My God Charlie Darwin
10:42       “Desert Bus Ride”
composed by Gustavo Santaolalla
performed by Gustavo Santaolalla
from Babel
10:44       “Baba”
performed by Andy Palacio
from Watina
10:48       “Hallelujah”
composed by Leonard Cohen
performed by Jeff Buckley
from Grace
10:55       “This Year’s Love”
composed by David Gray
performed by David Gray
from White Ladder
10:59       “Sin Precio”
performed by Andy Palacio
from Watina
11:03       “Little Potato”
composed by Malcolm Dalglish
performed by Malcolm Dalglish
from Metamora
11:06       “Funny How Love Is”
composed by Roland Gift & David Steele
performed by Fine Young Cannibals
from Fine Young Cannibals
11:10       “Wake Me Up” (Acoustic)
composed by E. Dawkins III, M. Einziger & T. Bergling
performed by Aloe Blacc
from Lift Your Spirit
11:14       “Miami”
performed by Andy Palacio
from Watina
11:18       “See Me Lakayana”
composed by Geoffrey Oryema
performed by Geoffrey Oryema
from Spirit
11:22       “Postales”
composed by Federico Aubele
performed by Federico Aubele
from the Poseidon soundtrack recording
11:26       “Djarimirri”
composed by Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu
performed by Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu
from Australian Aboriginal Music
11:30       “What She Didn’t Say”
composed by Jon Lavieri & Michael W. Johnson
performed by The MSD Quintet
from Driven
11:39       “Slacker’s Jig/Virginia Reel”
composed by Andrew Bryan
performed by Poor Angus
from Poor Angus
11:42       “Yesterday Morning”
composed by Wade Schuman
performed by Wade Schuman
from Hazmat Modine- Bahamut
11:47       “Uno”
composed by Ludovico Einaudi
performed by Ludovico Einaudi
from Ludovico Einaudi - Divenire

11:51       “Theme for Ernie”
composed by Fred Lacey
performed by John Coltrane
from Soultrane
11:56       “Short Trip Home”
composed by Edgar Meyer
performed by Joshua Bell, Edgar Meyer, Sam Bush, & Mike Marshall 
from Short Trip Home